The Samurai Code

After reading [Silent Honour by Danielle Steel] I’ve been fascinated by the  Japanese people and their culture.

One thing I’ve noticed about the Japanese is how thier behavior all seemed to be guided by some unwritten codes/rules not necessarily based on religion.

The theme of Honor, Respect and Politeness seems to be a reoccurring phenomenal among the Japanese. At a closer look at these qualities, you will agree with me that everybody need a dose of them as we go through the journey of Life.

Those observation above led me to make some research on Japanese cultures and beliefs. 

From the research, I learnt alot about thier cultures. For instance; it is frowned upon to show affections like kissing and hugging in public places but with thier reserved lifestyle, they still practice some Interesting night lifes in Karaoke, Maid cafe’s and Phachinko parlors 🙂

Another interesting observation is;  Saying ‘NO’ is very uncomfortable for the Japanese because they try to please as part of the codes of Life In Japanese Culture.I guess doing business with the Japanese will be interesting.

Like earlier stated, most Japanese cultures are really intriguing and fascinating.

 For example;while the Westerners and Africans love stuffing their faces with food till we are totally filled up , whereas the Japanese have long since realized that moderation leads to a longer, healthier life.

In Japan, a well-known teaching called Hara Hachi Bu instructs to eat until eighty percent full.

It is not a myth that a region of Okinawa, where caloric restriction has been practiced for over a hundred years, also has the world’s highest proportion of people who live to see a hundred years.(woah!)
Something that peeked my interest in all these is 

The Samurai or Bushido Code

Bushido code “way of the warrior”.

 The Bushido held restrictions on the Samurai, prohibiting them to do many things and to live a very honest life.  This is not only good for Samurai, but for everyone as it will make each who follows a truer person.

          There are seven virtues of the Bushido. 

1.  “Gi”-Integrity.  To do the right thing by yourself.  A Samurai must be smart in making choices and always chose what is good for the clan.  He will make the right choice even if left alone.  Practice Gi in everything you do.

    2.  “Yuuki”-Bravery and courage.  To show courage every moment of living, in danger or not.  

  3.  “Jin”- Kindness and compassion.  To show everyone kindness and show compassion for all regardless.  

    4.  “Rei”- Politeness.  Politeness is different in Japan, politeness is more than just being kind, its about caring about others, and some say it borders an almost love-like feeling.  

    5.  “Makoto”- Honesty.  Be true by the actions you show, and by the words you speak.  Follow the laws of the universe and you will become a honest person.  

    6.  “Meiyo”- To enjoy the honor.  A Samurai must earn honor and enjoy it if he is to satisfying the codes of the Bushido.

    7.  “Chuugi”- To be loyal.  To be trustful, loyal, and show these unconditionally to others.

You will agree with me that these are knowledge that when applied in your own life it makes living more pleasant to us and those around us.
  If you need more knowledge about these codes, You can grab a book on the Bushido called Bushido, The Soul of Japan written by Inazo Nitobe. It was read by Theodore Roosevelt and John F. Kennedy.  


Published by George Sunday

Am an Economist with a love for fashion. An introverted Idealist who loves to discuss various topics ranging from Lifestyle, self-improvement, productivity and Entertainment. JOZAVIC is a diverse Information Board with more interest in Lifestyle and Entertaining bits.

One thought on “The Samurai Code

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: